Table of Contents
Why this recipe works
This easy gluten-free s’mores board is perfect for your next bonfire! Wow your guests with a DIY s’mores bar with unique s’mores toppings on an adorable charcuterie board!
The best part? This s’mores platter is super easy to put together. Just add your classic s’mores ingredients to a big charcuterie board – gluten-free graham crackers, chocolate and marshmallows.
Then, add fun and unique toppings like gluten-free Oreos, nutella, peanut butter, peaches, strawberries, peanut butter cups and don’t forget the homemade s’mores dip. This board is SURE to impress!
- gluten-free graham crackers – You can use my homemade gluten-free crackers or you can buy store-bought gluten-free graham crackers. Some favorites include Schar, Kinnikinnick, and Pamela’s.
- gluten-free cookies – I used gluten-free Oreos for my board. However, my gluten-free chocolate chip cookies would also be great!
- s’mores dip – I used a ½ batch of my gluten-free s’mores dip for this board. It has chocolate chips, mini peanut butter cups, gluten-free graham crackers and mini marshmallows in it. It’s great scooped onto a graham cracker if you want a no-bake s’mores experience! No fire needed. Follow my recipe but make only half the dip and place in a small ramekin or oven-safe bowl for baking.
Other ingredient options
- Gluten-free cookies (my gluten-free chocolate chip cookies or my 3-Ingredient Flourless Peanut Butter Cookies would be perfect!)
- Marshmallow fluff
- Raspberry jam or preserves
- Bananas (a peanut butter, banana and fluff s’more would be delicious!)
- Mini marshmallows
- Balsamic glaze – great with strawberries, blueberries, and peaches!
- Salted caramel sauce
- Butterscotch sauce
- Sliced apples
- buttercream or frosting (my Chocolate Cream Cheese Frosting or Peanut Butter Frosting would be delicious!)
What makes this s’mores board gluten-free?
S’mores are typically not gluten-free because they are made with graham crackers. Graham crackers are made from graham flour, which is a coarsely ground wheat flour and NOT gluten-free.
To make this s’mores board gluten-free, you will need to use gluten-free graham crackers or cookies to make your s’mores.
The rest of the ingredients, marshmallows and chocolate, are typically gluten-free. However, always check ingredients to make sure they are gluten-free, because there may be additives (like a cookies and cream chocolate bar which is definitely not gluten-free) that make the product not gluten-free OR they may me made on the same equipment as gluten which would make them unsuitable for those with celiac disease or on a gluten-free diet due to cross contact.
Tips for making a dessert board
Choose a flat rectangular or circle board.
The first step is to choose your board. I personally love a large rectangular board for my dessert boards and charcuterie boards. For something like a s’mores board that I plan on bringing outside, I typically will use a board that has a bit of a rim so that ingredients don’t slide off.
If you don’t have a charcuterie board, use a baking sheet! Baking sheets are perfect for creating charcuterie boards. I like to line my baking sheets with parchment paper or wax paper for easy cleanup.
Place the bowls on the board first.
When placing your ingredients on your dessert board, I always find it easier to start with the ingredients in a bowl first. I like to place my bowl in different zones of the board. If I have 3 bowls, I’ll typically place one by itself and the other two closer together, rather than have them equidistant apart. I think it gives the board a little more interest this way.
Once you have your bowls on the board, start to place ingredients around the bowls in different sections. In the case of the dessert board, I wanted to place s’more bases, like the gluten-free graham crackers and the gluten-free Oreos, in a few different places so they are easy to grab and start making your gluten-free s’mores.
Consider the combinations of ingredients when planning quantity.
Make sure you have more than enough of the main ingredient. For the s’mores board, the main ingredient is always the marshmallows. Think about the different combinations of s’mores that you can make to figure out how many marshmallows you may need.
You can have less of ingredients that are nice to have (but not mandatory in making a s’mores), like the fresh fruit, or peanut butter cups, since they won’t be used by everyone.
Also keep in mind that some people will use 2 marshmallows, some 3 marshmallows to make their s’mores. I find that 1 bag of jumbo marshmallows is sufficient for this size board.
A s’mores board has a lot of brown – chocolate, crackers, cookies – all brown. To break up the brown and add some color, I like to separate like colors from the board. So the dark chocolate will be across the board from the peanut butter cups.
Graham crackers and peanut butter are the same medium-brown town so those will be separated. Use marshmallows, white chocolate, and fresh fruit to break up the sea of brown on your charcuterie board.
Add small toppings, like fruit, last to fill in spaces.
I like to leave the fruit or other small accoutrements for last when I’m building a board. The only exception is if that ingredient is in a bowl. Then, it always goes first. Loose berries, sprigs of rosemary, mini chocolate chips, dried apricots are all great ways to fill in empty spaces on your board.
If you have any empty spaces left, add a few extra dippers to the board in a random spot. It creates visual interest in your board.
Don’t forget utensils.
Last, add utensils like spoons for your dips or skewers for toasting the marshmallows. Tongs are perfect for serving toppings so your guests don’t have to use their hands.
Have extra skewers on hand if needed in case guests want multiple s’mores and misplace their skewer. Don’t forget napkins or plates for serving! S’mores can get messy!
While there are endless combinations for s’mores from this easy s’mores board, here are a few of my favorite s’mores combinations to get you started!
- Classic – marshmallow and milk chocolate on a gluten-free graham cracker
- Nutella, strawberry, marshmallow on a gluten-free graham cracker
- Peanut butter, peanut butter cup on a gluten-free Oreo
- White chocolate and peach on a graham cracker
- Milk chocolate, blueberry and nutella on a gluten-free Oreo
- White chocolate, strawberries, and nutella on a gluten-free graham cracker
- S’mores dip and strawberries on a gluten-free Oreo
You can make a beautiful s’mores board for your next party this summer! It’s so easy with just a few simple steps.
- Aim for variety. You’ll want 2-3 s’mores bases (cookies or graham crackers), 2-3 chocolate choices (milk chocolate, white chocolate, peanut butter cups), and at least 3-4 additional toppings.
- Adding a dessert dip like a s’mores dip is also a great option because you can make a s’mores without the fire. Just dip a graham cracker in the s’mores dip and top with other toppings. Great for someone who doesn’t care to roast a marshmallow.
- Having 2-3 ingredients in bowls is helpful for starting to decorate your dessert board. It gives the board some anchor points and you can fill around the bowls to create something beautiful. It also contains dips or small ingredients, like sprinkles or blueberries.
- This s’mores board is perfect for a DIY s’mores bar. Just add some homemade signs and let everyone choose their s’mores toppings!
No, s’mores are not typically gluten-free. They use graham crackers, which are made from wheat flour. However, with my s’mores board filled with gluten-free cookies and gluten-free graham crackers, you can eat gluten-free s’mores once again!
I love a big rectangular board with a rim so that my ingredients stay on the board during transport to the outdoors. You can also use a baking sheet if you prefer! Just line with some parchment paper or wax paper for easy cleanup!
This s’mores board is about the size of a sheet pan and can easily make 24 s’mores of various combinations. I like to aim for 2-3 s’mores per person so keep that in mind when planning your s’mores board! Of any ingredient, you’ll need the most amount of marshmallows since they will be on every s’more made. Other than that you can estimate base and topping ingredients from there. I always like to have the most amount of the classic ingredients (graham crackers and milk chocolate bars) since who doesn’t love a classic s’more?!
- Gluten-Free S’mores Bars
- Gluten-Free Rice Krispies Treats
- Raspberry Crumb Bars – Gluten-Free and Vegan
- Gluten-Free Vegan Blueberry Crumb Bars
Did you make this recipe?
I’d love to know! Please rate it and leave a comment below. You can also share your pictures and tag @adashofmegnut on Instagram.
Gluten-Free S’mores Board
- ½ cup Nutella (or chocolate fudge)
- ½ cup peanut butter
- ½ batch of homemade gluten-free s’mores dip
- ½ cup blueberries
- 8 oz gluten-free graham crackers (store-bought or homemade)
- 8 oz Gluten-free Oreo cookies (or other gluten-free cookies)
- 3 milk chocolate bars
- 3 white chocolate bars
- 8 peanut butter cups
- 1 bag jumbo marshmallows
- 1 cup strawberries (cut in half)
- 1 peach (sliced)
- Put peanut butter, nutella and blueberries in small bowls.
- Place the bowls on the board. Place the s’mores dip on a trivet on the board since the bottom is hot.
- Then, start placing your gluten-free graham crackers, gluten-free Oreos, chocolate bars, jumbo marshmallows, and peanut butter cups on the board.
- Fill in the spaces with fresh fruit, like the strawberries and sliced peaches.
- Add a few skewers for easy marshmallow toasting.
- Add spoons to the nutella and peanut butter bowls. Serve!
- Nutrition calculation is based on one s’more. Due to the variety on the board, the s’mores will vary in calories based on what toppings your choose for your s’mores.
- If you are making this s’mores board gluten-free, be sure to double check all ingredients to ensure they are gluten-free.
- You can make this board dairy-free by using dairy-free chocolate.
- Most marshmallows have gelatin in them and are therefore not vegan. To make this board vegan, use vegan marshmallows, graham crackers and chocolate. Gluten-free Oreos are already vegan.